My Trip to the U.S.A. Treasure of Baghdad’s Diary
December 14

This is my last night in New York City. I am very sad to leave. It became one of the things that I really liked. The buildings, the people, the streets, and everything were amazing. It’s full of life. I got this impression about New York when I was in Baghdad. O told me it’s hilarious and J said “you are going to have so much fun in it”.

At 7 p.m., Ivan and I went to Time Square. I wanted to see it for the last time because I might not be able to see it once again. Who knows what would happen? Am I going to stay alive or am I going to be dead? I am not pessimistic in what I am saying here. It’s a matter of thinking and expectations.

Anyway, my main aim to go to Time Square was to make my family see how amazing it is through the video I took. After that we met with Heidi and had another tour, but now it was in the biggest toys store in America, Toys R us. To be frank with you, I was amazed of this store. So what about the children? I immediately remembered my beautiful 3-months old niece whom I miss a lot. I bought a small cat toy for her and Heidi suggested I buy a small funny frog. I bought them and made Ivan film that. It was funny, so funny.

This is last time I spent with Heidi who is off work tomorrow. She gave me a nice present which was an audio CD of the original motion pictures soundtrack of Beyond the Sea. I like it a lot, listened to all of it’s songs and liked the fourth song in it, Simple Song of Freedom.

Today, I was also invited for dinner in Joel Simon’s house. I arrived 30 minutes late. I was very embarrassed for being late. Joel has a nice house, looks stylish and comfortable.

Before I arrived to their house, he has already ordered some Moroccan food called Tajeen. It looked like my mother’s Iraqi food. It was very delicious. While we were eating, we talked about me, my family, the way we live in Iraq, the kinds of food we have and how I work and live and stay alive in Baghdad in the middle of the chaotic situation the country is going through.

I couldn’t see his cute daughters this time. They were sleeping as they have school the next day. I wished I could film them and show my family how cute they are. Because it was freezing outside, Joel offered to drive me to the hotel.

I really enjoyed the dinner and really felt how nice Joel and his family are.

December 15, 2005

Today I am leaving to Philadelphia to meet J’s sister and her family. I am going to call her J2 in my posts from now on. I am very much excited to see them but at the same time, I am so sad I am leaving the CPJ. I liked this office a lot. I liked the staff and everyone in it. They were very friendly and helpful. They considered me one of them. I liked the way they work and how much effort they do to help journalists in allover the world.

Yesterday, I was invited to give a speech about my experience as an Iraqi reporter covering news in Iraq. I was very excited. Sitting in the middle, I started the speech of how I as an Iraqi reporter working for a western newspaper mange my work in one of the most dangerous places in the world now. Everyone was silent. I was able to see how amazed they were. I think they found my stories as strange as the stories of the Arabian Nights.

This morning, I was really reluctant to take the subway carrying my entire luggage with me. I stopped the first taxicab I saw in the street. He took me from Brooklyn to Manhattan where the CPJ office is.

The moment I arrived, O called me. I was very excited to hear his voice because I miss him a lot. I talked to him for more than half an hour and then I called my parents to see if they voted or not. My father picked up the phone. He said he and my mother voted today. His voice was very confident and he was laughing in the phone out of happiness. I was able to hear my mother who was telling him that she misses me. “I miss you a lot mom,” I said to my father to pass to her.

After that, I checked the newspapers and blogs covering the elections in Iraq. Then, Ivan said if I feel hungry and if we can go to grab some lunch. Maria, a Columbian researcher at the CPJ joined us. “What do you feel?” she asked. My answer came directly, “Sad”. I felt sad because I really liked the staff at the CPJ and I did not spend longer time as I have many other things to do while I am here in the States.

We returned back and then all the staff gathered in the lunch room where we were having lunch. Joel Simon thanked me for the time I spent with them and then he gave me a book as a present. I was really impressed. It was “Leaves of Grass” of Walt Whitman, my favorite American poet. The book was signed by all the staff who wished me luck in my career. Then Judy suggested giving me one of the T-shirts with the CPJ logo on it. “Thank you, this will protect me in Baghdad!” I said told them and they all laughed.

“My desk would be empty,” I told Ivan while we were waiting for my train to arrive. Ivan nodded his head.

I am definitely going to miss Joel Companga’s everyday Iraqi Arabic greeting to me like “Shako Mako” [Hey,what’s up?], I’ll miss Alexis’s smile and addiction to work, I’ll miss Kristine’s calmness and delicate smile, I’ll miss Alex’s nice personality and friendship whose knowledge of wars and violence exceeded all the limits, I’ll miss Joel Simon the friend and the brother, I’ll miss Judy’s motherly talk and smile, I’ll miss Ivan’s unbelievable coolness every time, I’ll miss Maria who so quickly became the friend of everybody, I’ll miss Nina’s loud and beautiful smile. I’ll miss all of them and everything in them.

My train arrived at 3 p.m. Ivan helped me in carrying one of the bags I was carrying with me. Then, time to say Goodbye came. I don’t know how I am going to be away from these guys, specially Ivan who became one of my best friends. They will be always in my mind.

I arrived Philadelphia at 5 p.m. and looked for P and A. P is J2’s husband and A is their 3 and half years-old son. They were supposed to meet me at the train station. I saw them and waved to them. That was the very first time, I see both of them. I was excited and happy. We went out to the car. It was raining. Then, we went to their house to put my luggage there and grab some dinner. My first impression about P is that he is a kind of educated man who seems to have a lot of information about most of the things around the world. He’s been to many countries for work and tourism and I think this enriched his knowledge in many countries culture. A, his son who is only three years and a half looked so cute and smart. The moment I entered the house, I saw him collecting his toys which he likes. He was the first child I see smart enough to memorize all the names of his toys.

P, A, and I went out walking to a nearby restaurant to have dinner. It was still raining but we were well covered. The neighborhood was just amazing. The houses looked like those we see in movies, all made of wood decorated by Christmas with gardens covered with snow that increased their beautiful sight.

8 thoughts on “

  1. awesome post! it’s great that you are able to see several different big cities here. christmas is so beautiful in the cold parts of america. blessings on the rest of your trip!

  2. Hi, it was a rumor after all , but the mere sound of those loud speakers heralding mass murder was freaky enough in the middle of the night , anyway thanks for your comment, I am honored , “ In sha’aallah Terja3 bisalama

  3. There are several places in or near Philly that you must see. The Barnes Foundation is one. Winterthur is another. Independance Hall is another. Trust me on these. All of them.enjoy…thinker

  4. I have greatly enjoyed reading your blog. Please continue writing when you return home. Your perspective on America was fascinating and I’m sure your blogs from Iraq would be as well. Embrace your family and stay safe.

  5. Please don’t forget to tell us what surprises you about America and American behavior/society/living. What has been different from your expectations, both exceeding expectations and falling short?…OK, I have only been a tourist in Philadelphia one time. It is rich with American history! This would be on my list of things to see for sure:[ ] Independence National Historical Park(see Liberty Bell and the exact physical location where both the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution were developed)http://www.nps.gov/inde/[ ] Constitution Museum (new)http://www.constitutioncenter.org/[ ] U.S. MintWhat to see coins being made? This is the place to go!http://www.usmint.gov/mint_tours/index.cfm?flash=yes&action=philadelphia%5B ] There are also quite a few art museums and other interesting museums, including a very unusual medical oddity museum, the Mutter Museum (you won’t forget this museum).For a good summary, see http://www.frommers.com/destinations/philadelphia/0023010029.html

  6. I’m so glad you came to Aerica I hope we made a good impression for you. I’m sad you must go back, I wish Iraq was all done with the building & rebuilding, and the terrorists all in jails, with peceful streets of smiling Iraqi faces, a sea of happy faces. Hospitals with lots of doctors and well stocked with the latest equipment, the schools briming with children excited about their school, friends and teahers. Holidays spents with the ones you love and care about, and a safe place deep inside yourself where the grief of the past, stys quite and still now, but I know the memories will always stay, I hope time soothes the old pains. And wish every happy joy imaginable for you and all you love.I pray today and forever that we all love and except each other, weather we agree or disagree and always try to understand the others feelings and respect them.You are a great joy to red, I;ve been blessed by reading your words. I hope nd pry you can come back again to America with your whole family for another vacation.Warm Regards,Pbble

Leave a comment