I Voted for Iraq


Today, I fulfilled an important task: I voted in my country’s parliamentary elections. As an Iraqi citizen who adores his country, I couldn’t be happier and proud after I cast my ballot.at the polling center in Arlington, Virginia in the United States. A sense of relief and optimism rushed into me after I did that. There is nothing in this world that can make me happy than seeing my beloved Iraq heal its wounds and be a better place so that I return and stay there forever.

By voting today, I have become part of the change Iraq is awaiting. Even though I’m thousands of miles afar, I still work hard to make Iraq a better place. It may take five, ten and maybe twenty years to rebuild the country but the thousand-miles road starts with one step.

Long live Iraq.

Leave a comment